Sponsors
Sponsor Products
Transparent Footprints: Optimizing HPC Workloads with Colocated Infrastructure

Join Us for this Upcoming Webinar:

August 3, 2016
10:00 AM EST, 2:00 PM GMT, 3:00 PM BST

Facing build or lease options for their rendering farm and storage, RVX, a growing special effects studio in Iceland, needed to factor high-performance demand and environmental impact into their cost analysis. As they weighed their options, a plan formed with the help of two providers.

Rui Gomes, chief technology officer at RVX had challenging projects ahead that demanded seamless access to storage resources to render films like 'Everest'. Their needs were quickly outpacing their capacity in their in-house data centre and moving to a cloud service was not an option due to the content needed to remain in a controlled environment. He faced the decision to grow what he owned or look at colocation options that could handle his high performance computing (HPC) needs for complex rendering workflows. In the end, he was able to design a solution that allowed him to check all of the boxes — scalable, accessible and fast with a bonus of an environmentally-friendly footprint. Next steps: deliver powerful, exciting virtual reality (VR) experiences using the same infrastructure.

 


Click here for more INFORMATION